Day #7 – 10-Day Strawberry Delight Challenge – Strawberry Cupcakes

Day #7 – 10-Day Strawberry Delight Challenge

For those of you that know me well, you might have thought that I would have saved the best for last. But those that really know me know that I like to keep you guessing and I’m not one for tradition.

In the spirit of ‘bucking the organized system,’ today’s sweet delight is on the strawberry cupcake. Sure, cupcakes are so 2000 and late. But for me, they were never a trend. They have always held a very special place in my heart. It’s like Christmas every single time I see these tiny little cakes. [Or insert any other experience that sends your heart into aflutter, and your mind gushing with complete and utter optimism even for a second].cupcakesprinklesglitter

That is the cupcake for me and strawberry is my favorite. I’ve adapted so many recipes from various treats that I’ve found across the net that I won’t bore you with my concoctions, but I will say that I add strawberry cream to the filling.

This step alone with any topping or cake will send your guests into a frenzy of excitement. They will not be expecting it since it’s hidden from the naked eye upon first bite, and I can assure you that it packs so much extra flavor that you will take your cupcake from a safe 6 into an easy 8.

Photos are of my explorations, and I’ve had so many iterations that not a single batch has resembled the other. In a trying time, a happy time, or just because, these flavor packed, beautifully round treats will take that experience to the next level.strawberryshortcakecupcakes

Enjoy! And if you’d like my recipes for chocolate cupcakes with strawberry buttercream, strawberry cupcakes with strawberry cream cheese, leave a comment and I’d be happy to help.

Strawberry Whipped Cream Filling Recipe

Ingredients:
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla
5-6 T. chopped/processed strawberries

Blending Instructions:
Chop strawberries in Magic Bullet just until they look thick and “liquidy”. This will make your strawberry puree.
Beat whipping cream, and vanilla until it starts to thicken.
Mix in sugar.
Fold in strawberries with a spatula. Do not over mix. You do not want your cream to become too liquify. Store in covered container in the fridge until ready to use. You can even make this the day before.

photo

Leave a Reply

